top of page

FMP Weeks 13 to 15


Above you can see the recently completed "Disney Infinity style" final piece. Generally very happy with it, though I wish I had more time to add some more focal points and items of interest - all you get is the two characters and a background with this one. Ideally I'd have liked there to have been more opportunities for the viewers to see the Martian city, but as I've expressed before I am far from an expert with environments and prefer to focus on my characters. The only reason these pieces even feature environment work is because that is the only way I believed I could showcase the characters in a presentable manner, but it's not like I'm not proud of the background work. Yes, it may have taken longer lengths of time than it should have, but at least it looks good and works well with the characters alongside. I am especially proud of my render of RID-09, floating companion, who I managed to render entirely over the final day of work on this piece.

And here we have the last one - "Overwatch style". This is probably my favourite out of the three as not only is it the art style I have the most experience with, but I knew exactly how much time I had to get it done, which helped me break up the work process into scheduled parts. I really like how I rendered the lighting on both of the characters, especially Kanan's face. I think the lighting that I decided to use for all three pieces really helped to showcase the dynamic forms of rendering and shading that I am capable of, and at the very least it definitely makes for a prettier composition than a simple overcast day. I set out trying to achieve a visual motif blanketed by a deep, reddish sunset palette, and I think I've done a good job of realising it on the canvas. That said, it still suffers from the problem that the last piece had - I'd ideally have liked there to be more things to look at. I was originally planning on adding another guard, who would be walking towards the central two characters, in the blank space to the left, however this idea had to be abandoned so that I could get it finished and begin working toward compiling my art book.

Here's a look at the pages I've assembled for the book to display my work. These designs have been through about 4 redesigns over the course of the process, but I've finally reached a point where I'm happy enough with with it to send it off for printing.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page