top of page

Week Eighteen

The nineteenth week saw the end of the sculpting process for my model, as well as its transition to a more hardware-efficient low poly version for use in-game. This week has been pretty straight forward as I've just been getting on with the usual routine; retopology, unwrapping, baking normals and other tweaks. I've spent significantly less time figuring out what the next steps are, and instead used it to benefit this process for an efficient and speedy result, which you'll be able to see completed below!

This week in life drawing we tried our hands at a wide range of poses with no real specific focus, meaning that I came out of the session with a hodgepodge of different body parts on my paper. This served as an interesting change of pace, though we still underwent the standard warm-up sketches for preparation (the smaller, single-limbed two seen above were 1-minute pieces). To the right you will see that at one point the model was sat facing the complete opposite direction to myself, meaning that I could draw the back in more detail, which is something that I cannot remember having done before in class. There were various standing and sitting poses throughout the session, and I think this helped us to get back into a mindset where we're considering the whole figure rather than just the shoulders upward like last week. And though this will not directly contribute to Hardened Brute character, for obvious reasons, I got a good idea of where muscles and bones sit on the relaxed back, such as the shoulder blades, which I've accentuated on my model in zBrush.

And here it is! I'm especially proud of this model simply because of how faithfully identical it is to the original orthographic designs. On the other hand, you may notice that, apart from the shoulder pauldron and hairstyle, the model is completely symmetrical, down to the creases on his trousers! I left it like that simply because of time restraints - it doesn't exactly take anything away from the aesthetic so I'll be leaving it as it is in favour of moving on to the next stages.

You can also see the low-poly to the left, which stands 1497 triangles - just 3 under the limit! I left quite a lot of the focus on the face as I didn't want to sacrifice too much of the detail when transitioning from zBrush, and the belly has a very low resolution, but smoothing groups will take care of all that later.

I've also managed to perform the unwrap for this model, this time taking the proposed size of each body part carefully to mind. I plan to have engravings on the shoulder pauldron so I've left plenty of room in the unwrap for them, along with the face which will obviously require the most attention. As always, I've double-packed the UV's over each other where I can to save both space and time in the long run.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page